To The Kind People Who Are Following My Blog: Thank you

To the kind people who are following my blog:

First of all, thank you.  I’m incredibly honored and touched by your presence.  I hope all of us can help each other out as we pursue our dreams.

Second, I’m sorry.  I might be spamming you unintentionally for the next few weeks as I try and figure out how to blog.  It just occurred to me this morning that you may be receiving e-mails each time I post content.  Eeeeek!  I’m so sorry if I’ve been annoying you as I test out the reblog button on this site.  I would recommend turning off the e-mail notices from my blog if you know how….

But, the good news is that I’m going to share whatever I learn about blogging and storytelling on this site.  Here’s what I’m working on right now:

BLOG POSTING METHOD

Each time I post something, it feels like I’m tossing pebbles into Niagara Falls and hoping someone sees what I’ve thrown.  The WordPress Reader feed is inundated with posts!  How does anyone get good content noticed?

You could have the best content in the world, but it won’t matter if it’s submerged in Niagara Falls!  Here are a few things to consider when you post content on your blog:

1.  Time of Day:  This is obviously important.  I’m still figuring out what time of day will work best for my blog.  Most of the information on blogging times seems to apply to company blogs.  Peak times for posting on a company blog appears to be between 9-11 A.M. on a weekday, which makes sense.  I’m not sure if that time will work for a personal blog, but I’ll be starting with that time and then playing around with post timing.

2.  Day of the Week:  This is another factor that may be different when comparing a company blog with a personal blog.  Weekdays like Monday or Tuesday probably work better for a company blog.  Since my blog is a personal blog, I may have to test out posting content on the weekend.

3.  Frequency:  Everything I’ve read says that the more you post content, the better it is for your blog.  I’m not sure I entirely agree with this, because I’d rather post quality content with less frequency then just throw garbage up on this site with daily frequency.  But then again, I’m new to this, so I may be proven wrong.  I do know that with my current lifestyle (a.k.a. mother to two small children), I’ll be lucky if I can post something on here two or three times a week.

4.  Title:  If you study the Reader feed on WordPress, pay attention to what catches your eye.  You may have fantastic content, but if your title is mundane, no one will sift through Niagara falls to get your pebble.

5.  Pictures:  Obviously, a post with a visually appealing picture will get more attention than something without a photo.  But I’m hesitant to add photos for two reasons.  First, I still need to find a good website that offers free images, because I’m cheap!  Second, part of the enjoyment of reading a story is visualizing the characters for myself.  If I post an image of a story character, I think it may detract from the reading experience.  But again, I’m new to all of this, so I could be proven wrong.

6.  Footprint:  Think about that rare occasion when you go to a store and you want to buy a book, but you have no idea what you want to buy.  Or if you go to the store to buy any product without any prior knowledge of exactly what you want.  What do you do?  You look at a product that occupies a great deal of shelf space.  The same can be said of content on the WordPress Reader.  This can be tied to frequency.  Who will get more of your attention on the WordPress Reader?  Someone who only posts one article or someone who posts a series of articles?  I’m not suggesting spamming the Reader, but writing a series of articles and posting two or three of them at the same time in a block post is something to consider.

CONTENT TYPE 

Who are you targeting with your blog?  What will they get out of reading your content?  You can just throw something up on your blog and hope that it sticks, but I suspect the best blogs create a symbiotic community of information sharing.  That’s the type of community I’d like to create on this blog, which is why I’m going to be very candid about any “secrets” that I learn during this process.

WORDPRESS MECHANICS

I’m still trying to figure out where everything is on WordPress.  I’m not thrilled with my theme (Hemingway), but I may just stick with it until I determine how to categorize my posts.  Please be patient with me as I figure this out….

Once again, to anyone who took the time to read this post, thank you.  I promise that I will share whatever I learn with you.  Best wishes to all of you.

2 thoughts on “To The Kind People Who Are Following My Blog: Thank you

  1. Have you seen Chris? says:

    Great thoughts. I’m a numbers guy so this is all very interesting and stuff I’ve been trying to figure out too. So far it’s just shots in the dark though.

    I’m so glad I set up an ail just for this WP blog – I have over a thousand emails I’ve received from blog posts. I had no idea either.

    Like

Leave a Reply

